Este informe no está disponible en español.


John F. Kennedy School of Government's ARCO FORUM presents:

The Future Of Puerto Rico: The Debate Over Vieques And Political Status

Wednesday, May 9, 2001
6:00 PM
ARCO Forum of Public Affairs, Harvard University



Senator Roberto Pratts, Popular Democratic Party (PPD)

Senator Myriam Ramirez de Ferrer, New Progressive Party (PNP)

Senator Manuel Rodriguez Orellana, Puerto Rican Independence Party (PIP)

As news about the conflict over U.S. Navy training in Vieques appeared in

the front page of newspapers around the world, now more than ever,

Puerto Rico's political status remains a subject of controversial debate.

The Puerto Rico Commonwealth's efforts to put an end to U.S. Navy military

exercises in Vieques have sparked heated debates about the future nature

of United States-Puerto Rico relations. To address these issues, the

John F. Kennedy School of Government has organized a panel discussion on

Wednesday, May 9. The discussion, sponsored by the Institute of Politics

of Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government; the Harvard

Journal of Hispanic Policy; and Harvard Students for Peace in Vieques,

Now!, begins at 6:00pm at the ARCO Forum of Public Affairs, at

Harvard University.

The three panelists who will debate the issue of Puerto Rico's

political status and the conflict in Vieques are: Puerto Rico Senator

Roberto Pratts, of the pro-commonwealth Popular Democratic Party (PPD);

Senator Myriam Ramirez de Ferrer, senate minority leader for the

pro-statehood New Progressive Party (PNP); and Manuel Rodriguez-Orellana,

former senator, of the pro-independence Puerto Rican Independence Party

(PIP). Former Governor of Puerto Rico, Pedro Rossello (1993-2001), will be

attending the Forum as an observer.

A question and answer session will be held following the debate between

the tree panelists who will represent the three political parties in

Puerto Rico.

This year the prestigious ARCO Forum has been host to eleven heads of

state or former heads of state, including F.W. De Klerk of South Africa;

Fidel Ramos of the Philippines; Leonel Fernandez of the Dominican

Republic; and President Kagame of Rwanda.

For more information contact:

Mr. Hans Perl-Matanzo at 617-493-5918 /

Mr. Hector Bladwell 617-493-6467 /


Self-Determination Legislation | Puerto Rico Herald Home
Newsstand | Puerto Rico | U.S. Government | Archives
Search | Mailing List | Contact Us | Feedback